Women's player development programme

This season Devon RFU are holding a series of events to encourage player development for women in Devon.

The programme this season will consist of three opportunities to apply for funding, three opportunities to play 10s rugby, a development day, a forum meeting and an end of season survey to inform our program development for next season.

We plan to add a further 10s tournament, another opportunity to apply for funding and another forum meeting next season.

Devon RFU are supporting a series of three 10s tournaments this season across Devon, which are being held at Topsham RFC (October 1, 2017), Plymstock Albion Oaks RFC (April 15, 2018) and Bideford RFC (June/July 2018 – exact date TBC).

The aim of these competitions are to get newer players or those returning from injury some game time, to bring together women’s clubs from across the county, and to provide an additional rugby format.

If you are interested in attending the next 10s tournament, on April 15, 2018 at Plymstock Albion Oaks RFC, you can find further information HERE: 

Devon RFU will also be holding a county women’s development day on February 25, 2018.

The day will be run by rugby development officers, community rugby coaches and guest coaches and will include fun rugby orientated games, development clinics and finishes with a game of rugby.

We would like to encourage all women in the county to attend; all ladies interested in attending should register in advance using this link: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/V55NRXF (pre-registration is essential to give us medical information in advance).

Other events in the player development calendar for this season include regular deadlines for the player development fund (further information can be found HERE), a forum to discuss issues for women and girl’s rugby (further information can be found HERE) and an end of season survey to help us develop our program for next season (link to become available in Summer 2018).

Devon Player Development Programme Calendar 2017/18: