Devon name squad for opening U15 girls' festival

19 Feb 2019 23:09 | Devon RFU

THE Devon under-15 girls’ side will kick-off their season on Sunday at Tavistock RFC when they host the first the first of three South West festivals.

The event at Sandy Park will see the teams play a 15-a-side round-robin competition in the morning followed by a sevens tournament in the afternoon.

Devon will start the day with a match against Gloucestershire at 11am – the same time as Cornwall play Somerset.

Devon have selected a squad of 32 players for this season, with the new RFU format for girls’ festivals ensuring plenty of game-time for everyone.

However, the Devon selectors had a tough job trying to choose a squad of just 32 after two rounds of high-quality trials.

The first saw a massive 117 players attend Bicton College before 66 were invited to a second trial at North Tawton RFC last Sunday.

“The standard was once again exceptionally high and the decision of reducing numbers to a squad of 32 caused huge headaches for the volunteer selectors - all of whom have various involvement across schools and Devon representative rugby,” said under-15 lead coach Hammy Kerswill.

“Much thanks must go to North Tawton for hosting an excellent day in what was perfect rugby conditions.”

He added: “This season has seen not only are largest number of triallists but also more clubs and schools across the county represented. That’s an excellent sign for the future and I have no doubt we have future Red Roses in our ranks.

“Much credit must go to the club coaches who I know work tirelessly in getting fixtures played and ensuring rugby remains a sport for all.”

Devon U15 squad for the February 24 festival at Tavistock is:-

Darcy White

Holly Keast

Holly Burrow

Alex Tamlin

Beth Daw

Chloe Brown

Caitlin Yeandle

Eva Lewis

Jodie Bralsford

Jessica Phillips

Chloe Phillips

Poppy Dowse

Alice Hornby

Millie Sinclair-Thompson

Danielle Preece

Rebecca Squires

Molly Thomas

Corri Friend

Gemma Cadle

Isabelle Hartley

Daisy Womack

Niamh Shirley

Tilly Ryall

Cat Walker

Evie Walker

Isabelle Partridge

Charlotte Gale

Lulu Sinar

Ella White

Chloe Huxtor

Kina Massey

Bryony Vass