Two rugby volunteers from Devon in the running for top national award

11 Jun 2018 10:32 | Sara Raine

TWO rugby volunteers from Devon are in the running to win a national award.

Kingsbridge’s Mike Shute and Exeter Athletic’s Cheryl McGauley have been named as finalists in the 2018 Mitsubishi Motors Volunteer of the Year Awards.

There will be 42 finalists from all around the country who will attend an awards event at Twickenham on September 7, where the overall winners will be selected, with the chance to win a Mitsubishi car for 12 months. 

Mike and Cheryl were selected from two regional events held in Devon to recognise all the area’s rugby volunteers.

One event was held at the Mitsubishi showroom in Brixton, near Plymouth, and another took place at Livery Dole in Exeter.

All the nominees at these events received ‘value volunteer’ certificates.

“Volunteers are such a vital part of the game," said Lance Bradley, Mitsubishi Motors managing director.  "The amount of work that they put in to the day-to-day running of their clubs is invaluable and these awards give us the opportunity to recognise the hard work they do.”

All clubs were invited to nominate volunteers for recognition.

Value volunteer certificate awards from the Exeter event: Ally Pugh (Honiton), Shona Sinar (Paignton), Colin David John Aldworth (Teignmouth), Gemma Markham (Crediton), Robert Bewes (Torrington), Kievin Helley (Paignton), Paul Dorothy (Paignton), Gordon Hooper (Newton Abbot), Adrian Avery (Torrington), Cheryl McGauley (Exeter Youth/Athletic), Debbie Whiteway (Cullompton), Jason Hannay (Honiton), Graeme Gillard (Newton Abbot), Angelique Aldworth (Teignmouth), Felecity Dunn (Torquay), Paul Coupe (Crediton), Roger Holman (Exmouth), Tristan Bassett (Exmouth), Sue Stone (Exmouth), Dawn Witkiss (Exmouth), Chris Witkiss (Exmouth), Kai Rendel (Teignmouth), James Grant (Exmouth), Richard Haynes (Exmouth), Robert Lowe (Exmouth), Amy Gillard (Withycombe).

Value volunteer certificate awards from the Plymouth event: Jeremy Chugg (Barnstaple), Mike Shute (Kingsbridge), Sean Cook (OPM), Jenny Trinder (OPM), Shaun Bedford-Smith (Old Technicians), Richard Belli (Plymouth Combination), Nick Hancock (Plymouth Argaum), Nigel Higginson (Plymstock Albion Oaks), Sharon Rooke-Higginson (Plymstock Albion Oaks), Peter Haigh (Tamar Saracens), Dan Leeson (Tamar Saracens), Simon Mulville (Tamar Saracens), Kirk Lewandowski (Tavistock), Jon Lindsay (Tavistock).