Under-20s hoping grit and unity can carry them through to the final

13 Apr 2018 07:32 | Sara Raine

DEVON Under-20s will be aiming to book a place in the Jason Leonard County Championship Division Two cup final on Sunday when they host Notts, Lincs and Derbyshire at Ivybridge (2.30pm).

The young Green and Whites  are unbeaten in the County Championship this season. They topped their pool to secure promotion back to the top tier and then beat Essex 46-0 in the quarter-finals.

Devon know they will face a tough test against Notts, Lincs and Derbyshire, whose squad is based around Nottingham Academy players and students at Nottingham Trent and Nottingham University. However, head coach Lewis Paterson is hoping his side can show more of the spirit and determination they have already shown so far this season at the weekend.

“Our lads have got a bit of grit and we are a good team,” said Paterson. “We have got good unity and, hopefully, that will show on Sunday.”

Devon have kept virtually the same squad all the way through the campaign.

“We are keeping that consistency with the lads who are putting in the hard work and excelling in their young Devon careers,” said Paterson.

“A lot of the under-20s have been invited to Devon senior training, which is massive in terms of the future.

“Devon is a second pathway for a lot of rising young talent.”

Devon’s chairman of representative rugby Jeremy Chugg added: “Sunday is a very important game, more so for the lads than anything else. They have all worked really hard and deserve to get something out of it.

“Getting this far is great for everyone.”

He added: “We are also grateful to Ivybridge again for letting us use their facilities. We did try a few others clubs to see if we could use their pitches, but for different reasons they had to say no but Ivybridge were able to help us again.”

Devon Under-20 squad

15 Aaron Smith (Teignmouth)

14 Ryan Lee (Barnstaple)

13 Brad Down (Hartpury College)

12 Jesse Lowe (Brixham)

11 Troy Willis (Barnstaple)

10 Mitch Pinkus (capt, Ivybridge)

9 Jay Toogood (Ivybridge)

1 Wes Vermigle (Ivybride)

2 Ben Collins (Ivybridge)

3 Marcus Prout (Ivybridge)

4 Robin Luscombe (Ivybridge)

5 Morgan White (Exmouth)

6 Max Keen (Exmouth)

7 Callum Smith (Brixham)

8 Josh Mackin (Torquay Athletic)


16 Owen Garner (Ivybridge)

17 Caleb Sampson (Withycombe)

18 Alex Taylor (Withycombe)

19 Dan Armstrong (Exmouth)

20 Lewis Swatton (Devonport Services)

21 Kye Munslow (Withycombe)

22 Dan Johnson (South Molton).