Devon Under-16s too strong for Cornwall at Mount Kelly College

04 Feb 2018 23:50 | Devon RFU

DEVON Schools’ under-16s continued their good form this season with two wins over Cornwall at Mount Kelly College on Sunday.

Devon’s A team have a 100 per cent record this term and they were extremely clinical against their Duchy counterparts, winning 46-5.

They could not have asked for a better start with three tries in the opening nine minutes.

The first came after just two minutes when Greg Wilce kicked a loose ball forward and won the race to pick it up and score in the left corner.

He was then involved in Devon’s second try. After he was stopped short, he popped the ball up for centre Henry Varndell-Dawes to go over in the same corner.

Almost from the restart, full-back Tom Putt added try number three when he stretched out to get the ball down in the other corner.

Cornwall did cut the gap after some good play by their scrum-half but Devon, dominating the line-outs and looking dangerous in the backs, soon added a fourth try through centre Will Cunningham.

Cunningham added another after the interval before Ben Dawson ran from the halfway for try number six. 

Prop Ben Sloman then managed to power over after some good forward play before Dawson finished the scoring with his second, which he also converted.

Devon’s B team also claimed another win – their second in three matches. They ran in five tries against Cornwall to triumph 29-10.

Jason Capaldi claimed two of those, with their others coming from Harry Emmett, Max Davies and Herbie Owen.

Three of the scores came in the first half. They then had to weather a bit of pressure in the second period but took their chances when they got them.

After the match all the players received their county ties.

Devon will complete their under-16 fixtures on February 18 when they travel to Dorset & Wiltshire.

Devon A squad: Tom Putt, Owen Tidball, Henry Varndell-Dawes, Will Cunningham, Greg Wilce, Jake Davey, Harry Edwards, Ben Sloman, George Thompson, Devlin Welch, Ollie Davies, Matt Bond, Alex Rowe, Alfie Raynor, Liam Mills, Harry Davies, Alex Morton, Cameron Duncan, Finlay McClenaghan, Harvey Causer, Brendon Bonser, Ben Dawson.

Devon B squad: Harry Emmett, Connor Bracher, Henry Spencer, Oscar Stewart, Josh Drew, Bradley Mckee, Will Birch, Riley Hutchinson, Lewis Smithurst, Rhys Parks, Will Murden, Nathan Snape, Will Greenwood, Jason Farrant, Cole Pengelly, Jack Skinner, Callum Yeandle, Jacob Brooks, Herbie Owen, Max Davies, Will Oxland, Cameron Dennis, Jason Capaldi