South Molton become the second winners of the David Butt Memorial Trophy

22 Oct 2017 21:21 | Sara Raine

NUMBER eight Dan Smith scored two tries in the final 10 minutes as South Molton beat Dartmouth 29-8 to claim the David Butt Memorial Trophy at Barnstaple on Sunday.

South Molton’s win at Pottington Road had special significance for the Devon One side as former county chairman David Butt had played and coached at their club.

The Unicorns always looked in control of the final with their powerful pack dominating, particularly at the scrums.

They led 13-3 at the break and although Dartmouth closed the gap at the start of the second half, South Molton finished strongly.

Their number 10 Callum Stone kicked two early penalties to put them 6-0 up.

Luke Chase missed a penalty for Dartmouth on 22 minutes, but then slotted one over eight minutes later.

But within seconds of the restart, South Molton scored the game’s opening try when full-back Dan Johnson danced through Dartmouth’s defence to score under the posts and give Stone an easy conversion.

Dartmouth scrum-half Henry McCready started the second half really lively and he scored a try from a quick tap penalty on 44 minutes to close the gap to 13-8.

But South Molton prevented their opponents from building on that with Stone kicking two penalties to edge them 19-8 up. The second one came after Dartmouth’s experienced hooker Nick Shillabeer had been sin-binned.

Just as Shillabeer was returning, South Molton put the game beyond Darts when the powerful Smith crossed on the left after intense pressure.

And with a minute to go, Smith added a second try, this time on the right.

South Molton: Dan Johnson, Elliott Griffin, Bill Bright, Ben Gatehouse (capt), James Campbell, Callum Stone, James Tapp, Ross Crang, Richard Clarke, Simon Murch, Tom Clarke, George Jones, Reece Eury, Henry Cole, Dan Smith. Reps: Sam Howard, David Kitt, Aiden Humphtreys, Ben Warren, Ben Ward, Harry Kingdon, Zak Stoneman, Mike Butt.

Dartmouth: Josh Bruckner, Luke Bridgwood, Gary Rooney, Richard Lobb, Jack Gordon, Luke Chase, Henry McCready, Tom Clark, Nick Shillabeer, Dec Hammond, Jack Stirk, Alex Parrott, Ricky Seymour, Karl Caunter, John Dingle (capt). Reps: Dan Jones, Glen Allison, Dom Calvert, Aaron Hunt, Sam Pearson, Luke Bonstow, Lorien Spurdle, Xavier Picot.

Look out for more pictures in the future on our official Devon RFU Facebook page