South Molton and Dartmouth reach David Butt Trophy final

15 Oct 2017 18:03 | Sara Raine

SOUTH Molton and Dartmouth will battle it out for the David Butt Memorial Trophy next Sunday at Barnstaple’s Pottington Road ground.

South Molton booked their place in the final by beating last year’s champions New Cross 39-3 in Saturday’s semi at Unicorn Park.

Meanwhile, Dartmouth progressed after narrowly overcoming Tamar Saracens 17-14 at the Parkway Sports Club in the other semi-final.

Dartmouth, who are the Devon Junior Cup holders, were 17-0 up at half-time thanks to tries by captain John Dingle and fellow forward Alex Parrott, plus two conversions and a penalty by Jack Clark.

However, Tamar Saracens dominated the second half and set up a thrilling final last 15 minutes thanks to tries by Frazer Tatchell and Mike Cox and two conversions from youngster Lewis Swatton.

The Plymouth side threw everything at Dartmouth late on but the South Hams club managed to hang on to claim the win.

Things were a bit more comfortable for South Molton against New Cross, although there was not too much between the teams in the first half.

However, South Molton pulled away in the second period.

Dan Johnson (2), Elliott Griffin, Ross Crang and Reece Eury scored tries for South Molton, with Callum Stone kicking the rest of their points.

New Cross had their chances but they struggled to break down Molts’ defence and had to make do with only a Ryan Wotton penalty for their efforts.