Devon U20s reach quarter-finals after beating Somerset at Newton Abbot

26 Mar 2017 17:55 | Devon RFU

DEVON secured a place in the Under-20 National County Shield quarter-finals by beating Somerset 27-17 at Newton Abbot on Sunday.

The young Devon side came from 17-5 down to claim the victory and finish second in Pool Four behind Dorset & Wiltshire.

They will now play Eastern Counties away next Sunday (April 2) in the last eight.

Somerset took the lead in the 27th minute at Rackerhayes when Alex Onyeahasi scored on the right.

The visitors doubled their lead seven minutes later when scrum-half Ollie Phillips went over.

But just before half-time, Devon hit back with a try from a catch-and-drive move by Ivybridge forward Ben Collins. That made the score at the break 10-5 to Somerset.

The visitors increased their advantage five minutes after the interval when centre Henry Gliddon scored a great try under the posts after fly-half Ollie Weaver put him clear. Weaver also converted.

But then suddenly Devon came to life. Captain Mitch Pinkus scored a fine try on 60 minutes when he chipped forward and won the race to the ball. He also converted to reduce the gap to 17-12.

And nine minutes later Pinkus put in a great cross-field kick for Newton Abbot’s Alfie Lang to score in the left corner.

Ivybridge fly-half Pinkus brilliantly converted and he also added a penalty eight minutes from time to put Devon 22-17.

The home team knew they needed one more score to overtake Somerset in the table and it came four minutes from time when Lang went over for a second try in the left corner.

DEVON: Damon Akerman (Ivybridge), Jordan Smith-Cronin (Ivybridge), Kyle Blackmore (Honiton), Lewis Barnaby (Ivybridge), Jake Prophettoneill (Exmouth), Mitch Pinkus (Ivybridge, capt), Connor Banks (Ivybridge), Ben Logan (Honiton), Aidan Taylor (Emouth), Sean Harrison (Withycombe), Jordan Watson (Brixham), Tom Arnold (Plymouth University), Ben Collins (Ivybridge), Max Coles (Ivybridge), Ben Morris (Plymouth University). Reps: Martin Carrick (Newton Abbot), Joe Buller (Tiverton), Alfie Lang (Newton Abbot), Jack Sturton (Hartpury College), Robert Snowdon (Newton Abbot), Aaron Smith (Newton Abbot).