New Cross win inaugural David Butt Memorial Trophy

23 Oct 2016 20:25 | Devon RFU

NEW CROSS became the first winners of the David Butt Memorial Trophy by beating Devon Two side Old Technicians 21-15 in an enthralling final at Barnstaple.

Devon One outfit New Cross looked to have put the game beyond doubt in the 75th minute when they scored a third try to go 21-8 up.

However, Old Techs refused to lie down and closed the gap to six points quickly to set up a thrilling final couple of minutes at Pottingham Road.

New Cross, though, hung on to claim victory in front of the Devon committee, David Butt’s family and a decent-sized crowd at Barnstaple.

In a difficult wind, both teams missed early penalties before New Cross took the lead in the 19th minute through a Ryan Wotton penalty.

Old Techs, playing against the elements, levelled within four minutes thanks to a successful penalty kick from Billy Evans.

Wotton responded with another three points before he scored the game’s first try in the 37th minute to make the half-time score 11-7.

New Cross, playing in a borrowed kit from Barnstaple, extended that lead after just seven seconds of the second half when Shawn Bayliss scored in the corner straight from the kick-off.

But Old Techs got back into the game with a touch-down from a good maul by prop Tony Luxton.

With the wind advantage, Old Techs were having plenty of the play but in the 70th minute they suffered a blow when they were adjusted to have put their foot on the touchline in their own 22 and New Cross scored from the resultant line-out, with Dayne Leyton getting the ball down.

However, Plymouth side Old Techs refused to give up and got a penalty try, which Evans converted, to take the game down to the wire.

The trophy and medals were presented by members of David Butt’s family.