Devon clubs among the finalists at the National Rugby Awards

18 Jul 2019 10:46 | Devon RFU

DEVON will have four finalists at the National Rugby Awards which will be held at Twickenham on August 29.

Any club or individual could enter the awards which are now in their fifth year.

RFU Senior Vase winners Honiton, who also won the Devon Intermediate Shield and promotion, are in the running for the men’s team of the year prize. They will be up against Carlisle, Ross, Market Harborough, Reeds Weybridge and Kingscross Steelers.

Exeter Athletic  are finalists in the club of the year category. Also on the shortlist for that award are Belsize Park, Bournemouth, Crawley, Medway and Pinley.

Newton Abbot Ladies have made the shortlist for women’s team of the year, where they will face competition from Bath, Bracknell, Crew & Nantwich, Newton Milton & District and Workington Zebra Finches.

Plymouth Argaum’s Nick Hancock is also again a nominee in the men’s player of the year category after making a return to rugby following a triple bypass operation.

Meanwhile, former Devon under-20 player Drew Meakin, who is now based in Hampshire, is a finalists in the referee of the year category.