Jeffery becomes Devon RFU's new president

12 Jul 2019 00:21 | Devon RFU

KEN JEFFERY was elected as Devon RFU’s new president at the annual general meeting at Ivybridge on Thursday evening.

Jeffery takes over from Treve Mitchell, who had been in the role for two years.

Mitchell will continue as Devon RFU’s secretary and for his efforts over the years he was made a life member of the county.

Jeffery has a long involvement with the county and was previously treasurer for 14 years before stepping down from that time-consuming role last summer.

The AGM also saw Gareth Jones made an honorary life vice-president for all his work with the Devon senior and under-20 teams over the years.

North Tawton were also presented with their Devon One winners’ shield, while the draw for the Devon Junior Cup was made.

The draw for the first round, which was regionalised, is as follows:-

Torrington v Exeter Saracens

Ilfracombe v Withycombe

Totnes v Salcombe

Buckfastleigh v Dartmouth

Old Techs v Tamar Saracens


Plympton Victoria v Plymouth Argaum.

Ties for the first round will be played on Saturday, October 12.