Devon's Nielson set for full England debut in San Diego

10 Jun 2019 11:33 | Sara Raine

DEVON’S Clara Nielson looks set to earn her first full cap for England after being named in their 28-player squad to travel to San Diego later this month for the Women’s Rugby Super Series.

Former Devon Under-18 hooker Nielson, who played for Tavistock and North Tawton before going on to Exeter University and Bristol Bears, featured for England in the non-cap match against the Barbarians earlier this month and impressed enough to keep her place in the squad.

Nielson is one of just two uncapped players in the England party to fly to North America, alongside Harlequins’ Chloe Edwards.

She will be joined on the plane by former Devon Under-18 player Lagi Tuima, who made her return from injury against the Barbarians.

England head coach Simon Middleton said: “I’ve been really pleased with how this new generation of Red Roses has been developing since January.

“We’ve been looking to continually improve our performance every time we take to the pitch, be that in training or a match, and we want to build on that as we complete our final preparations for San Diego.

He added: “The Super Series promises to be a superb competition and a great challenge against high-quality opposition. It will provide us with the perfect platform to see exactly where we are as a squad and just as crucially how far we still have to go in order to reach the levels we aspire to.

England Women squad for 2019 Super Series

Forwards: Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Womens RFC), Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies), Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women), Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women), Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women), Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies), Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries), Chloe Edwards (Harlequins Ladies), Sarah Hunter (Captain, Loughborough Lightning), Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Clara Nielson (Bristol Bears Women), Cath O'Donnell (Loughborough Lightning), Marlie Packer (Saracens Women), Ellena Perry (Saracens Women), Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies).

Backs: Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women), Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC), Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC), Claudia  MacDonald (Wasps FC Ladies), Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women), Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women), Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies), Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning), Emily Scott (Harlequins Ladies), Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC), Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries), Lagi Tuima (Bristol Bears Women), Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning).

England Women’s Super Series 2019 schedule

Friday 28 June

England v USA - KO: 05:00 BST

Saturday 6 July

Canada v England - KO 09:15 BST 

Wednesday 10 July

England v France - KO 06:15 BST

Sunday 14 July

New Zealand v England - KO 05:00 BST