Devon duo selected to tour Georgia with England Counties

28 May 2019 11:52 | Devon RFU

DEVON players Dan Mugford and John Kelly have been selected to tour Georgia with the England Counties squad.

The Plymouth Albion duo have been named in a 24-man squad for June’s trip after featuring in Devon’s opening two games against Gloucestershire and Hampshire.

Kent have the biggest number of players in the squad with six in the party, while Cornwall, who have reached the County Championship final, have two – Alex Ducker and Jack Oulton – like Devon and Gloucestershire, while fellow finalists, Cheshire, only have one player in the team.

England Counties will play two fixtures on Friday, June 7 and Tuesday, June 11 . 

“The England Counties team is the pinnacle of representative rugby in the community game and I believe that we have selected the strongest team we can for this massive challenge in Georgia,” said team manager Dan Cook. 

“Passion and pride shines through when the Georgians play rugby and we need a squad that will not only match this but have the capabilities to overcome Georgia in their own back yard."

Alongside Cook n in Georgia will be James Shanahan, in his final year as head coach, assistant coach Chris Wilkins as well as assistant manager Steve Johnson.

The tour party will depart on Monday, June 3 and return on Wednesday, June 12. 

England Counties squad

Tom Williams* Kent and Blackheath

George Porter* Gloucestershire and Cinderford

Henry Paul* Surrey And Esher

Danny Herriott* Kent and Blackheath

Nathan Morris* Kent and Old Elthamians

Neil Briggs * Cheshire and Sale FC,

Bob Birtwell Lancashire and Sedgley Park

Joe Makin Yorkshire and Hull Ionians

John Kelly* Devon and Plymouth Albion

 Ollie Hodgson Durham and DMP

Hughes Lancashire and Sale FC

Harry Hone Gloucestershire and Cinderford

Stephen Leonard * Kent and Cambridge University

Jack Daly Kent and Blackheath

Jack Oulton* Cornwall and Redruth

Dan Mugford Devon and Plymouth

Greg Lound* Surrey and Rosslyn Park

James Tincknell* Yorkshire and Hull Ionians

Kieron Moffat* Kent and Old Elthamians

Lewis Minikin Yorkshire and Hull Ionians

Callum McKenzie* Durham and DMP

Craig Holland* Surrey and Chinnor

Nick Hankin* Hertfordshire and Bishops Stortford

Alex Ducker* Cornwall and Camborne

New caps-*