Exeter Youth


Oil Mill Lane
Clyst St Mary


Black, pale blue and white

Founded in 1989

It was more than 20 years ago when we first formed the beginnings of an under 10s team at Barton Fields, next to the County Ground. Exeter Rugby Club was running a colts team at the time and over the next few seasons the Junior Section slowly organised itself with a target of running teams covering all the age groups from Under 7 to Under 16. After about 6 seasons that aim was achieved and Exeter Youth Rugby Club can now boast that it has a playing membership of over 280 young players from 6 to 18 years of age.

Prior to the move to Sandy Park, the now renamed “Youth Section” raised funds through the famous match day BBQ, registration fees and some generous sponsors. Today, Exeter Youth Rugby has its own affiliation with Devon RFU and is developing its own ground with the hope of in the foreseeable future also having a senior team.

There is a lot involved in running a Junior Club. Our Committee consists of 9 officers fulfilling roles which include finance, fixtures, refereeing, coaching, discipline, volunteering, and child protection. The costs of running the Club have also increased. As playing numbers have increased so too have the costs, providing numbers of coaching courses & first aid courses, additional equipment and playing kit all contribute.

We are now leasing our own land at Oil Mill Lane and developing this for the Club. This has involved so far a lot of hard work from our volunteers and we now have superb pitches used by all ages.

We are now the envy of many local clubs with the pitches that we have at Oil Mill Lane. Changing rooms, showers and catering facilities are now in place, albeit in portacabins and catering van, but we now need to target the next step in our development. The goal for 2017/18 has been to put planning in place to build our own club house. This will be no easy task and a lot of fundraising is now needed to make this a reality.

Each of our 11 teams has a team administrator and the section now has over 40 coaches. In addition each team has a person qualified in first aid. Most teams have volunteers who carry out numerous other roles from photography to washing up. None are paid, or receive re-imbursement of any kind. Most are parents who support their child’s love of our game. Their reward is seeing their proud son or daughter run out wearing a Chiefs shirt and having fun. Their sons and daughters will remain ardent supporters of the Exeter Chiefs for the rest of their lives and will forge lifelong friendships with their team-mates.

The Club relies heavily on volunteers and this is apparent also for fund raising. The majority of volunteers are passionate about rugby and without them it would be hard to provide what can be viewed as a great opportunity for the youngsters in the community in Exeter and surrounding areas.

Junior Chairman

Cheryl McGauley

Junior Secretary

Helen Ward

Junior Fixture Secretary

Martyn Osborne

Honorary Treasurer

Richard Adams


Simon Banks

Referee Liaison

Phil Roebuck

Under 9

Georgia Parkhouse

Under 10

Hayley Jelley

Under 12

Claire Channing

Under 11

Jane Sorrell

Under 13

Martyn Osborne

Under 14

Ady Williams

Under 15

Simon Banks

Under 16

Phil Roebuck

Colts Team Manager

Helen Ward

Under 8/7

Luke Tillen